Home / Invitational Tournament News / Invitational Trail at Tanner's Creek

Invitational Trail at Tanner's Creek

Tanners_Creek_Aug_4_2013_197INDIANA BASS FEDERATION

2013 Invitational Trail

The fifth stop on the Invitational Trail was held Sunday August 4th at Tanner’s Creek off the Ohio River in Lawrenceburg, Indiana.

Premier partners for this event were American Boat and Yacht of Jeffersonville, Artesian Outdoors of Martinsville and Solar Bat Sunglasses.

Tanners_Creek_Aug_4_2013_208Beautiful weather greeted the 120 Anglers and it stuck around all weekend. The temps were just cool enough on Sunday morning you needed a jacket especially if you were making a long run on the river as some anglers traveled over 40 miles one way.  The day warmed to the upper 70s by weigh in time. You could not ask for a better day in August.

Most anglers reported the catch rates were a little better in practice than on tournament day. There were still 26 limits weighed in.

The 60 boats took off at 6:45 and returned at 3:30 and 4:00 PM.

Jeff Rude of Kokomo Indiana led the anglers with a five fish limit and Jeff had two nice kicker fish including big bass of the tournament weighing 4.56 lbs.  His second kicker was over 4 lbs. and Jeff reported catching it on the last cast of the day.  Jeff’s total of 11.74 lbs paid him $2,520.00 for the first place prize. Jeff added to that with $600.00 for big bass on the Angler side.  Congratulation to Jeff on his first IBF Invitational Trail championship.

Antwain Howard of Indianapolis bested the Co-Anglers for his second Championship in as many years. Antwain also won Big Bass honors.

Tanners_Creek_Aug_4_2013_223Antwain’s 5 fish limit weighed 7.28 lbs. and paid $1,260.00 his 3.20 lb. kicker paid $295.00 extra.

Other award winners were:

Anglers,      2nd.  Ron Moody,        9.76 lbs       $1,575.00

3rd.   Curt Cox,            9.68 lbs.      $   945.00

4th.   Paul Jones,          8.78 lbs.      $   630.00

tie      5th.   Ken Bortlein        8.52 lbs.      $   315.00

5th.   Kelly Hook          8.52 lbs.      $   315.00

7th    Lewis Mallory,    8.02 lbs.  Rod from A2O


Tanners_Creek_Aug_4_2013_215Co-Anglers,  2nd Perry Sanders,    5.86 lbs.      $ 787.50

3rd           Michael Moyer,   5.50 lbs.      $ 472.50

4th  Greg Smith,         5.26 lbs.      $ 315.00

5th  Rob Kelley,                   4.56 lbs.      $ 189.00

6th  Thom Foster        4.34 lbs.      $ 126.00

7th  Dave Rector         4.30 lbs.  Rod from A2O


With only the September Monroe tournament remaining the Angler of the year race really heats up.  Kenny Bortlein leads the Anglers with 450 points. Second is a tie between Terry McWilliams and Tim Maupin with 426 points each. Phil Reel is just one point back with 425.

The Co-Angler race is lead by Charles Fox with 441 points followed by James Rockhill 417 and Red Grider with 394.

Good luck to all of these anglers as they work toward the coveted Angler of the Year rings.







Proud to be your tournament director,

Kenny Swint