Home / Invitational Tournament News / 2013 IBF Invitational at Monroe

2013 IBF Invitational at Monroe

Indiana Bass Federation Invitational Trail

Monroe Reservoir Sept 8, 2013

Final Results

The last of the six Trail Invitational’s has wrappMonroe_Angler_Money_Winners-aed up but not without some drama. The Angler of the Year and Co-Angler of the Year championships were up for grabs. Several guys were in contention and the tough bite at Monroe set the stage for a show down. Several guys also had to have a good showing to make the top 40 cut to fish the 2013 Forrest L. Wood Indiana Bass Federation Classic.

Paul Jolly of Salem Indiana put together a winning limit of fish weighing 14.38 lbs.  Paul earned $2,352.00 plus the 100 points for first place.  Those points moved Paul from outside the top 40 to 37th securing his classic invitation. Congratulations to Paul who is a previous classic champion. Tim Maupin of Lawrenceburg Indiana came into the tournament tied for second place in the Angler of the Year standings with Terry McWilliams and they were just behind Kenny Bortlein.

Tim’s 4 fish totaled 10.38 lbs. That was good for 5th place and enough points to earn him the 2013 Angler of the Year title.

Paul Jones, Rob Kelley and Dale Fess were 2nd, 3rd and 4th. Respectively.

ODSCF5841-an the Co-Angler side Patrick Brown of Oxford Ohio was the only Co-Angler who could put together a limit on stingy Monroe. Patrick’s five weighed 8.7 lbs and they earned him $1,113.00 Patrick also ended up in 10th place in the final year end points race.

Charles Fox of Austin Indiana is our Co-Angler of the Year, he finished 12th at Monroe but that was good enough to hold off hard charging Red Grider. Red finished Monroe in 4th leaving him 2nd in overall points.

Money Winners at Monroe are listed below. The complete results and year end standings are attached.


Anglers,      1st     Paul Jolly   14.38 lbs     $2,352.00

                   2nd   Paul Jones 14.14 lbs     $1,470.00

                   3rd    Rob Kelley 13.92 lbs     $1,176.00

                   4th    Dale Fess    11.94 lbs     $  588.00 + $560 Big Bass

                   5th    Tim Maupin 10.38 lbs. $  294.00


                   1st     Patrick Brown     8.70 lbs       $1,113.00

                   2nd   Nick Veselka        7.22 lbs       $  695.63

                   3rd    Mike Bracken      6.60 lbs       $  556.50

                   4th    Red Grider          6.44 lbs       $  278.25

                   5th    Steve Freese         5.28 lbs       $ 139.12 + 260 Big Bass

Thanks again to the Indiana National Guard for their assistance with this tournament.  The Indiana Bass Federation, Forrest L. Wood Classic will be held October 5 & 6, at Patoka. 

Monroe Results

Angler Standings | Co-Angler Standings